Tuesday, May 24, 2011

The union parliament of Myanmar

The union parliament of Myanmar approved 34 union government ministries with 30 ministers to form the union government.
The 34 approved union government ministries are those of defense, home affairs, border affairs, foreign affairs, information, agriculture and irrigation, finance and revenue, construction, national planning and economic development, commerce, communications, posts and telegraphs, social welfare, relief and resettlement, forestry, livestock and fisheries, mines, cooperatives, labor, transport, hotels and tourism, industry-1, industry-2, rail transportation, energy, electric power-1, electric power-2, education, health, culture, religious affairs, science and technology, immigration and population, sports as well as president's office and industrial development.
The 30 ministers, proposed by the president-elect, were also approved by the union parliament.
The 30 are
1. Lt-General Ko Ko 2.Maj-General Hla Min 3.Maj-General Thein Htay 4.U Wunna Maung Lwin 5.U Myint Hlaing
6.U Kyaw San 7.Wunna Kyaw Htin U Win Myint 8.U Tint San 9.U Khin Maung Myint 10.U Thein Htun
11.U Hla Htun 12.U Thein Htike 13.U Nyan Htun Aung 14.U Tin Naing Thein 15.U Win Htun 16.U Aung Kyi
17.U Ohn Myint 18.U Kyaw Swar Khaing 19.U Soe Thein 20.U Than Htay 21.U Aung Min 22.Dr. Mya Aye
23.Dr. Pe Thet Khin 24.U Aye Myint 25.Thura U Myint Maung 26.U Khin Yi 27.U Zaw Min 28.U Khin Maung Soe
29.U Thein Nyunt 30.U Soe Maung

The specific naming of the ministers to related ministries is expected to follow .
Prime Minister U Thein Sein won the presidency, while U Tin Aung Myint Oo and Dr. Sai Mauk Kham were elected as vice presidents.
The terms of office of the president and the vice presidents are five years, according to the state constitution.

No comments: